Zeylah’s Pumpkin Spice Fall themed Birthday

I can still remember how overwhelmed with joy I was when I received the phone call with the wonderful news that I was going to be an Aunt. I can’t believe I now had the pleasure of helping to plan my Niece’s 1st Birthday.

image

image

I love October’s. The beautiful fall colors, delicious scents, and of course the cool weather. Most of all I love October because it is the Month that has blessed my other half and I with our  handsome nephew Nicholas and our beautiful niece Zeylah. We are so obsessed and so in love with them both. Nicholas is such a character. He knows & loves his Tio (uncle), Tia (Aunt), and his Primo (cousin) DeShaun. He’s such a happy little boy and what a pleasure it has been watching him learn and grow so much these past two years. Although we are miles apart we really enjoy spoiling Zeylah through the distance and love watching videos of her daily. One of my favorite times of the day is when I get to video chat with my little Zey.

When my sister told me her plans to throw Zeylah a Fall/Autumn themed party I was beyond excited. I instantly took on the task of making the decorations and Zeylah’s 1st Birthday outfit.

My first project was the Birthday Banner. I headed to Michael’s where I found the scrapbook paper on sale 4 for $1. I was lucky to find some fall colored cut out letters in the $1.50 bins which were perfect for this project. After I completed the banner I decided it was missing something and head to Wal-Mart for some doilies.
image

image

image

image

I then decided to make a tissue paper Tassel garland for the front of the table. I used Orange, white, gold, and brown which looked like more of a tan color to me.

image

image

image

I also took a Frappuccino bottle and painted it gold then added some twine to the top half. It somewhat looks like an acorn. I wanted to use it as a vase for some sunflowers on the table but in the rush never used it at all. So I left it for my sister to keep and add to the bottle collection I have made for her in the past.

image

Finally I took on the task of putting together my Niece’s first birthday outfit. I decided I would make her a fall inspired fabric tutu. So I headed to find the perfect colors and patterns. On a quick trip to Wal-Mart I decided to hit the fabric section and after a while I found just the right match of fabrics. I am soooo obsessed and happy with the results and how adorable she looked in her tutu. The shirt was also purchased at Wal-Mart and her tights and boots are from target.

image

image

image

image

image

I also downloaded and printed some free fall printables I found on Pinterest. My sister and I then purchased some frames at the dollar tree and used them to frame the printables and studio pics of my niece to display on the cake table. The table-cloth was purchased at target and I scattered different size doilies across the middle of the table to make a runner.

Why spend money on a cake when at home, made from scratch cakes are always so yummy. We found the idea for a pumpkin shaped bundtcake on pinterest and my sister took the challenge of baking it. She used a pumpkin spice recipe and made her own cream cheese icing. The cake was such a hit and not to mention such an adorable focal point on the cake table. Of course such an adorable cake needed a matching cake stand to complement it. I made my sister her very own cake stand using a pretty flowered plate found at target for $2.99 and a simple white metal candle holder from the dollar tree. She now has her own custom cake stand for just $4.00.
wpid-picsart_10-31-07.39.22.jpg

image

wpid-picsart_10-31-07.42.34.jpg

image

image

As far as food my sister choose to keep it simple being the party was after church for my Niece’s dedication service. My sister decided to serve pumpkin shaped Apple butter turkey sandwiches cut into pumpkin shapes, tangerines with celery pieces in the middle to look like little pumpkins, pretzel sticks, and veggie chips. For drinks we had small bottled waters, apple cider, and a crock pot pumpkin spice latte.
image

imageimage

Since it was a party for a one year old, I love my sister’s idea of doing a story time. She created her own felt board and made the pieces to read the book Chicka Chicka 1 2 3  along with few other books. She also played songs for them and made instruments out of recycled materials. The children and parents all seemed engaged and enjoyed their story time. Another cute Idea my sister had was using Christian books found at the Dollar Tree as Thank you Gift for each of the children who attended the party.

image

image

image

image

For me simplicity is the Key. This small, cozy, intimate, Fall inspired party had all the perfect touches from the handmade decor, the homemade cake, the simple food, to the fun activity of a story time.

wpid-picsart_10-27-07.55.08.jpg

wpid-20151025_113841-1.jpg

wpid-picsart_10-27-05.50.26.jpg

wpid-picsart_10-27-09.52.56.jpg

image

One thought on “Zeylah’s Pumpkin Spice Fall themed Birthday

  1. Sandra S Canas says:

    Thank you for this post sis. I hadn’t seen it and I love it. You did an amazing job with the decorations and Zey’s first birthday outfit. Love you bunches…

Leave a Reply

