Black white and Gold 60th Birthday Surprise Party

My Mother in Law’s Birthday was around the corner and I decided an intamite Surprise party would be perfect.

Ofcourse I took to pinterest for party ideas. I loved the classy look of black and white and added gold for a sophisticated golden 60th.

My first project was making a gumball machine candy holder. I used Terra cotta pot and saucerfrom walmart, painted it black, glued a Dollar Tree bowl to the top, used the saucer as a lid and added a small wooden ball to glue to the top. Then painted a wing nut and washer gold and glued them. I used a small doilie under it to make it stand out from the table. Finally filled it with gold Hershey’s kisses.

image

The next project was her name. I purchased wooden letters. Painted all the trims black and the fronts in gold. Then decided to personalize the letter M with family pictures. My sister in law printed the pics for me in black and white on regular paper. We laid out the pics where we wanted them then I carefully lifted them and glued the with craft glue. I then used the same glued to brush on top twice for a glossy look. Finally I used an exacto knife to cute the edges of the pics to the shape of the M.

image

image

Another quick project was the glitter vase. I wrapped the top half of the vase with newspaper and taped it. I then sprayed the bottom of the vase with a spray can glue and poured gold glitter on it all over. Make sure you do this over newspaper. I repeated the process till the vase was covered evenly all over to my liking. Then wrapped a black ribbon around the top of the glitter for a more completed look. I was going to use white roses but settled on Sunflowers and baby’s breath and I could not be any happier with the look.

image

image

The backdrop consisted of a black banner purchased at Micheal’s. It is regular black paper. Had I known this I would have saved myself the money and made it myself but with not much time I used it anyway. We used Chalk to write with and replaced the black ribbon with Jute. My sister in law then helped me to make a Tissue paper Tassel garland. Which is was very cost effective but time consuming to make. To finish off the look I cut different  size circles out of cardstock from Micheal’s  and hot glued them to some jute. I taped them going down to cover the wall.

image

For the table I used a black and white stripped plastic table cover from Walmart online and folded a regular black plastic table cover to use as a  center runner.
I purchased a gold charger and tray at Micheal’s to use for sweets. I also found a cardboard colored tray in the office section at Target which I then painted with gold acrylic paint to use as a drink tray. I found a glass Jar at the one spot for $1 and made her, her very own signature punch. I also purchased  Pina Colada and Strawberry Daiquri Welch’s mocktails.  I can’t forget the cutest napkins reading “Eat more Cake and Celebrate” which I fell in love with and had to include.

image

image

image

image

Lastly and most importantly the Homemade Coconut cake. To make it easier on me I used boxed cake mix following a pinterest recipe to make it More like from scratch cake. I poked the cake with a fork while hot and poured a mixture of lopez Coconut cream and a bit of condensed milk over it. I then let it cool and made a coconut pudding to spread between the 2 layers. Then covered it in a homemade cool whip cream cheese icing and topped it with coconut shavings. My sister in law ordered the cake topper on Amazon and I purchased the gold candles at target. I just love the look of simple cakes.

image

image

image

I found indoor outdoor string lights at Target and strung them on my living room mirror to set a soft ambience for her to walk into and be surprised. I loved how everything cane together and looked with the soft lighting.

image

I was going to use balloons but decided they took away from the classy sophisticated look I was going for so instead of using helium I blew some up and scattered them on the floor and love love love how it looked.

image

image

image

image

A weeks worth of running around, a weekend of crafting and cooking, I was exausted but it was all worth it knowing she enjoyed it and most importantly that the hubby felt very proud and happy to have made her day.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Karly Baby ❤

Leave a Reply

