Goodbye my sweet Teddy Baby

Dear Teddy Baby

Growing up I was an animal lover. Always finding strays and bring them home trying to convince my parents to let me keep them. I have also always been daddy’s little girl. Feb of 2000 Pops went to work and found a stray had left behind the runt of her litter under a garbage bin. Pops didn’t hesitate to bring you home to me. That day our 15 year journey began.
image

I instantly fell so in love with you. Who could resist? You were Almost 2 months old, I was 17 yrs old. You were so tiny and helpless. Pops and I took you to the vet. My little mangy flea infested mutt. Vet bills were insane for such a little guy but every single cent was so worth it. A chow chow / German Shepard mix so fluffy, so adorable, with that spotted purple tongue it was only fitting to name you Teddy Bear Herrera.

image

image

Grandma didn’t want a dog. She was so mad at Pops for bringing you home. I would sneak you in when every one was gone or asleep. I stuffed a towel in my messenger bag and took you everywhere with me because I hated leaving you alone. The Cutest little teddy bear I have ever seen grew into such a bad boy, a rambunctious teen and who ran the streets and neighborhood of Coral Gates. Always quick to run off at any chance you got but always making sure to find your way back home. Grandma couldn’t help but fall in love with you. Listening to her baby talk to you was always hysterical yet so heartwarming.

image

2002 you became a big brother. You and Dee were inseparable. Dee used to sit by your dog food and fed you one by one (and ate some himself). He used you as a head rest while laying on the floor to watch his cartoons. You seemed more then happy to be his head rest. From day one you protected him from everyone who got to close to his stroller on our daily walks. You loved children. All the children I’ve had in my care all these years, they hugged you, rode you, pulled your tail and you just loved them all so much. You were so great in fact that every single one of them asks about you when they see me.

image

The move to GA was a big move for all of us. You adjusted well. Ga has been good to you. We shared our first snow together, although you hated it you did love and enjoy the cold weather. Walks with your beloved Whody must have been your favorite moments. Roaming those Ga back roads were your past time. as always you never failed to find your way back home.  So obedient, so well behaved and quiet that no one ever knew we had a dog until they actually saw you.

image

The end of your life was lived out happily with your Grandma and Whody. A grumpy old man just like your Pops and just wanting to be left alone. The last time I visited was a memorable one for me. I swear you cried of happiness to see me. A moment I will never forget. A phone call from Pops telling me you missed me broke my little heart. You visited Pops and after your walk you waited and barked at the door of my old apartment expecting me to be there. What a let down that must have been. I truly wish I was there to open that door and let you in.

image

My first baby boy. I have missed you greatly the 3 years I have been away. I have wished and wanted nothing more then to have you here with me. I am so sorry I was not there with you. Yesterdays phone call was the worst for me. My greatest comfort is knowing Grandma was by your side all day. No one better then Grandma to make anyone feel better when they are ill.

image

image

My heart is so heavy today. Mostly because I have missed you and will continue to always miss you and partly because of the guilt. The guilt of leaving you behind, the guilt of not being there to care for you in the end. I knew this time would come, I even knew how near it was already but I don’t think anything could have prepared me for this moment. I spent the night crying looking through picture and remembering 15 years of beautiful memories.

image

Teddy baby I can’t thank you enough for the 15 wonderful years you have given this family. You were more then “just a dog”, you were a very important part of this family. So loyal, so loving, and most importantly so forgiving. You taught us all the true meaning of unconditional love. Your love and loyalty towards every single one of us (even your grumpy old pops) was so amazing and so inspiring.

image

image

I have hated every moment of being away from you. I have missed you and thought of you daily. Mommy will forever carry you in her heart. I love you forever my Teddy Baby. Goodbye and may you rest in peace.

Feb 2000 – Aug 2015

image

imageimage

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

