Celebrating the Big 13

I’m a bit late on posting again but things have been a bit stressful around here lately. So I am now trying to catch up on all that’s needs to be done. So here we go…

You are never to old for a themed party. So in true Hostess with the Mostess fashion I had to come up with a good themed party that was nice and subtle enough for my now Teen who of course is too cool for everything.

My son wanted to spend the day with family so I wanted to give him just that. In light of our Birthday trip to Universal and Islands of Adventure I decided a comic book/superhero theme would be a great idea. Now to make it happen on a budget.

image

First there is nothing like a delicious homemade cake. When it comes to cakes I love simplicity. I decided to make a layered vanilla cake with white cream cheese frosting. I used card stock to make the 13. Then covered the numbers in glitter and painted over them in black to tone the shine down a bit, when dry I hot glued them to wooden skewers. He picked out blue candles. The cake was a hit. It was gone so quick I never even got to try it.

image
image

As far as the food I tried to keep it simple Hot dogs, Hamburgers, sausages, chips, a delicious chilli dip (made by yours truly), and sodas. We have a “bring your own beer” policy around here so that’s one cost i never have yo worry about. To keep the cost down of course I couponed what I could. As always our Grill Master and proud father did his part on the day of the party.

image

Dollar tree gift bag.

image

Gift bag up cycled to centerpiece.

I had to be subtle and try hard not to go over board. I also did not want to spend to much money. So I always try to work with what I already have at home first. On my father’s day post I showed you all the gifts from my son to his father. Those gifts were in a black comic book themed dollar store gift bag. I decided to repurpose it and get the most out of my dollar. 🙂 Cut out the words hot glued them to wooden skewers, used blue tissue paper and mason jars I had on hand and two lovely centers pieces were born. Placed one at the food table in the kitchen and the other in the living room on the Ottoman tray.

image

image

Comicbook themed backdrop

image

Target Marquee Letter

I then rearranged my living room to make more room for everyone and to set up the cake table and photo wall. I wanted a city back drop on my trip to target for some poster board I found the perfect comic themed table-cloth, and fell on love with their room essentials Marquee letters I had to purchase the D. As we walked around the store I came across a city themed plastic shower curtain for $9.99 and with a cart-wheel offer of 20 % off it saved me the trouble of tracing and cutting. It was perfect. I also pick up some black and grey latex balloons and a cute colorful felt Happy Birthday banner.

image

Marvel Poster

I hung the shower curtain as a backdrop. Hung the Birthday banner on the very top. Strung the balloons on some $1 jute also found at target. Flanked the balloons on either side of the backdrop. Used my round black placemats as a table runner. Printed a recent picture of my son in black and white and used a silver chevron picture frame I already had ($1 also from target clearance). Placed the Marquee D on a cake stand and pulled out a red lantern I found for $.50 at target during the 4th of July clearance. I then covered my mirror with a Marvel poster from target, strung some cute $3 colorful string lights from the target one spot and lastly added some lighting cut outs left over from the dollar tree gift bag.
I was so happy because I stayed under budget and also because it all turned out so cute. The key is always simplicity. My son loved it all but most importantly he had a wonderful time celebrating with all of our wonderful family.
Hope you all love the theme, decorations and pictures.
Enjoy..
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

